End of Year Drama Reviews 2012

I’ve decided to write a review (my very first!) on all the dramas that I’ve watched this year. This list doesn’t include the dramas that have aired in earlier years though. I tend to mostly watch dramas after they’ve finished airing since I can’t handle the suspense so I may be a bit behind but at the end of the year, we’ve all had our share of good and not so good dramas.

**Some spoilers are in grey.

Dramas that I’ve enjoyed

 

Bridal Mask

“Two brothers – Lee Kang-to and Lee Kang-san – live in Seoul in the 1930’s, oppressed under the Japanese rule. Kang-to, the younger brother, is a rising star in the police force and works with the Japanese police to capture “Bridal Mask,” a mysterious freedom fighter who fights for independence wearing a Korean Bridal Mask. Later when Lee Kang-to’s life is turned upside down, he dons the Bridal Mask and fights injustice and rights wrongs against the Japanese during one of the darkest periods of Korea’s history.”

This drama made me thankful that I had waited until it had finished airing before starting it, otherwise, I don’t know how I would’ve survived the suspense of it all.

It’s packed with heaps of action which is a nice change from the dramas that I usually watch. A downside however, is the amount of blood and torture it contains, not to mention all the killing and dying that goes on in there.  I highly recommend keeping a box of tissues nearby at all times. Actually no, one box isn’t enough, bring four or five.

As much as I love it, I do wish that they’d give us more development or background to some of the minor characters, especially the freedom fighters. Also, the plotting gets me confused at times with the Iknowheknows-ception- Kangto (Joo Won) knows that Shunji (Park Ki Woong) knows that Kangto knows that Shunji knows.. They’re always one upping each other. But overall, I loved it as a whole- It was so thrilling to watch as I was constantly being kept on edge.

This is definitely one of my favorite dramas of the year and a must watch for all. Plus JOO WON! That guy has got some serious acting potential and ever since Ojakgyo Brothers, he’s become one of my favorite actors.

I also LOVE the costumes in Bridal Mask. They all look so elegant and sophisticated and I’ve pretty much melted too many times now, seeing both Joo Won and Park Ki Woong in suits. (The dresses are also very pretty!) Full House Take 2’s wardrobe/hair department should really come and get some expert advice from Bridal Mask’s stylists. Except, the white bathrobe costume thingy that Bridal Mask wears looks very.. bathroomy but who cares, its GAKSITAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL!

Answer Me 1997

“It tells the story of 6 former high school friends from a school in Busan who meet again in 2012 and brings back memories to 1997 when they were still high school students. Moving back and forth between the ’90s and today, the story centers on the life of Sung Shi Won , who idolizes boyband H.O.T, and her 5 high school friends.”

Although I may be of different nationality and culture to the characters, the feelings this drama portrayed of the teenage years are pretty much similar to not just me but quite many people out there, which may be why this little drama became so popular.

I felt reminiscent watching it and it’s made me walk down my memory lane (filled with Tamagotchis, tape recorders, Walkman etc.). I laughed, I cried and I cheered along with the characters that I’ve grown fond of. They all had their differences but even though they argued and fought, they still stuck together as friends until the very end.

The cast were delightful and I especially like the female lead, Shi Won (Jung Eun Ji), probably because she reminded me of myself in many ways. Her unwavering love (or as some may call it, an obsession) for an idol and a band? I understand all too well. Her father and the bickering they get into? Tell me about it. As a new actress, I think she did splendidly and I’ll definitely keep an eye out for any future projects she may have.

What struck me the hardest though, were the raw emotions the drama managed to capture so well- of love, friendship, heartbreak, and just of the complications of being a teenager. That everyone goes through. Sure there were tears and fights but that was what made it so much more real right? Sided with a big dollop of nostalgia and this drama makes the perfect treat. Oh and the sheep noises at awkward moments were all too amusing.

Yoon Je (Seo In Guk)’s unwavering passionate yet pure love for her brought tears to my eyes. Their love was simple (what more do you expect from a first love?) and that I love. Why can’t I have someone love me so?

This was a delightfully sweet drama that made me laugh and smile the whole way through. I’m glad I got to walk through this journey with the characters and get to know them all so well. Definitely a drama to watch.

Full House Take 2

“A hapkido teacher named Jang Man-ok (Man-ok means “full house” in Hanja) poses as a stylist for top idol group TAKE ONE and moves into the band’s luxurious house, which superstar musician Lee Tae-ik inherited from his father. A love triangle emerges as Lee vies against fellow band member Won Kang-hwi for Jang’s affection”

At the beginning, when news came out that there would be a second season to the original Full House, the hype around it was high. But there were also heaps of rumors, a pretty prominent one being that TOP would star in it. TOP starring in a romance drama? I immediately went to watch Full House to prepare for the second season, just in case there was a carry on story line or something. Sadly though, TOP declined the offer due to clashing schedules or whatnot and the drama ran into quite a few problems such as casting etc. The hype died down I guess and it was only a few days ago, after it had finished, that I decided to give it a try.

People keep comparing it to the original and sure, Full House one was great fun but other than some similarities, I think both dramas have their virtues. I really hope people would watch the drama for the drama itself and not as competition or follow up to the original because the original may have been better but I think this drama is a delight to watch itself.

Before I go off ranting about how cute it was, who the hell was in charge of the hairstyles? They should be fired immediately or sent back to relearn hair styling or something. I literally cringed every time Lee Tae Ik (Noh Min Woo) and/or Jang Man Ok (Hwang Jung Eum) appeared onstage with bird nests in place of their hair. It was alright for Noh Min Woo because he could style it and all but Hwang Jung Eum, oh how I cry for you and your hair. Other than that though, I was satisfied with it all except, why did they squeeze so much cute moments between Noh Min Woo and Hwang Jung Eum into the last episode rather than throughout the 16 (or 32) episodes?!

Luckily though, Won Kang Hwi (Park Ki Woong) got away with his cute blond hair. But this sudden transition from the antagonist in Bridal Mask to this cute idol in Full House Take 2!? My heart can’t take it.

Do watch this  with an open mind to see it for the fun drama it really is.

Nice Guy (The Innocent Man).

“A classic melodrama involving betrayal, revenge, and romance. The story is about Kang Ma Roo , who gave up everything for the woman  he loves only to be betrayed by her. To get revenge on his ex-girlfriend, he uses her step-daughter and successor to Taesang Group, Seo Eun Gi . Unfortunately, she suffers brain damage and loss of memory after a car accident, and now Kang Ma Roo works to fix everything that went awry because of his blind sighted revenge and ends up fally in love with Seo Eun Gi.”

Did I enjoy this drama? I’m not sure actually.

In midst of watching my blood pressure rise higher and higher and resisting the urge to slap Jae Hee, I don’t think I had the time, or room to enjoy it. Nice? Was there anything nice about it? Or about anyone in it? ‘Cause I think I may have missed out on the nice parts. The version I watched had none. NONE. Which is why I have to say that the title is extremely misleading. But more of that later, in the review that I will find the time to get around to do.

As a  melodrama however, it did the job perfectly. Do I think it’s the best melodrama I’ve watched so far? Yes, but then again, I rarely watch melodramas and I wasn’t mentally prepared for all the angst and betrayals (I started this expecting a romantic comedic, how I came to think like that, I don’t know). Let me give some advice- mentally prepare yourself before starting this drama please.

I think though, that other than none of the characters being very nice,  it was an excellent drama. The quality of it was very high and I can say that everything was planned well. Nice Guy (hah, lies) kept me solidly invested but do I like it? I’ll have to sleep on that one.

Shut up! Flower Boy Band.

“Eye Candy is a six member underground rock band led by Byung Hee. When the group transfers into the prestigious Jungsang High School, they find their rival, Strawberry Fields. This is a story about the two rock bands and how they deal with friendship, relationships, and their passion for music”

If Answer Me 1997 was focused more on the brightness of adolescence then this would be the complete opposite. It’s all about the dark, intensely raw emotions that just radiates out from the music the band plays.

It’s refreshingly different from Flower Boy Ramyun Shop and there are 6 members in the band, Eye Candy! Goodbye guys that group in fours! I know that Byunghee (Lee Min Ki) died so technically there are only 5 guys BUT I DON’T CARE. In my heart and the heart of the band, Byunghee will forever be part of Eye Candy so don’t go telling me otherwise. Why drama, why!? I liked him and I was prepared to continue liking him more and more yet they killed him! It’s okay though, because he still remains my favorite character.

Sung Joon (as Kwon Ji Hyuk) did a tremendous leap from flat, lifeless acting in Lie to Me to this character who conveys so much emotion and intensity, and doing so, he proved that he can act. Proud of you Sung Joon, real proud. I never knew he could sing though, so I was pleasantly surprised.

Between the band, they create music that carries through their immense passion. I can’t believe this is the second installment of TvN’s Flower Boy series, it makes me excited for the third installment.

Rich Man Poor Woman

“Despite the worldwide recession and financial difficulties, there are people like Mark Zuckerberg who began work from merely an apartment room or a garage that end up growing to be companies generating over ten billion dollars revenues after merely 10 years or so, embracing their new found wealth by living the dream life. Whether it’s a game or application software, Ecommerce, or other IT related firm, there are more than a few who rose in fame to such status in recent years. On the other hand, Japan’s unemployment rate for new grads dropped to a record low and those who want to work are unable to, or their wishes to work at their company of choice is not granted.

A Cinderella story of the real world. Will the two be able to compromise their values and lifestyles to become a happy couple?”

The hot summery feel I got from this drama was exactly like that of Buzzer Beat. I immensely enjoyed Buzzer Beat and I’m glad to say that I enjoyed this one too.What is it about summer jdramas that make me enjoy them so?

Since the name is very cliquey, I braced myself for the worst. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that this drama wasn’t at all like I had expected- the barrier between rich and poor isn’t very dominant in the story and it hardly makes much of an issue.

What made the story so charming however, was the chemistry between the two onscreen leads- the socially awkward Hyuga Toru (Oguri Shun)and low self-esteemed Sawaki Chihiro (Ishihara Satomi). Rich Man Poor Woman isn’t exactly amazing or spectacular but I appreciated the simplicity of it all.

It was a breeze to watch, good for a hot summery day.

Operation Proposal.

Kang Baek Ho realizes that he is in love with his best friend, Ham Yi Seul, on the day of her wedding to another man. He travels back in time to various events of their lives hoping to change the outcome of their relationship. Will Baek Ho be able to change the course of their future?

…How many times did he time travel again? ‘Cause I pretty much lost track halfway.

It seems like 2012 is the year of time travelling with so many Korean dramas being based around it. After the third or fourth time he time travelled back, it became rather tedious  for me like oh this doesn’t work? Bam let’s travel back again. One thing I admire though, is his ‘never give up’ attitude. No matter how many times you get rejected, you have to keep trying!

Near the end, I got exasperated- just give up I wanted to tell him, JUST LET HER MARRY THE OTHER GUY AND MOVE ONWARD WITH YOUR LIFE, NOT BACK.

I did like it though (the cuteness of Yoo Seung Ho as Kang Baek Ho) and one thing I liked the most was how although love might fail, friendship never does.

I haven’t watched the original Japanese version of this but I think that though it may be repetitive and tiring at times, the cast did a good job so I am satisfied. Yoo Seung Ho (as  was great and I will honestly miss him when he goes to the army next year.

The King 2Hearts

This drama is set in modern day where South Korea is governed by a constitutional monarchy. Lee Jae Ha is a handsome and materialistic crown prince that doesn’t care about politics.his life turns upside down when his brother forces him to join a hybrid team consisting of soldiers from north and south Korea. Kim Hang Ah is a tough special forces agent who doesn’t have any experience in love or dating though she wishes to get married and live peacefully. when her comrade convinces her of joining the north-south team , she meets the cocky prince and they immediately start fighting but things change when they know they are arranged to be married.

I was surprised to learn that this was by the Hong Sisters because this drama struck me as being of a serious political nature and their dramas are always filled with laughs, but I was wrong as this one was no different.

I think this drama did a really good job with the North and South Korean reunification since I know that it is a pretty sensitive topic to some. The politics in it were simple enough to understand yet deep enough to hold meaning.  Plus, the humor in it kept it  from becoming serious and dull.

The perspectives of the different countries/ organizations were captured finely and drama wasn’t afraid to speak it’s mind about what it thought of other countries.

But Kim Bong Gu, to this day I still have no idea what perspective he had but then again I don’t really think he was quite right in the head. He is definitely the most random villain I’ve seen, scary since he is also one of the most powerful. Whilst he amused me every now and then, his sidekick/assassinator Bong Bong was way too creepy for me. I was so glad in the end when they shot her multiple times since just once didn’t seem to do quite enough justice for her (I mean, what if she withstands  one shot and comes back again later!?) 

Lee Jae Ha (Lee Seung Gi) was one of the highlights of  this drama and he makes a very commendable king. He is responsible for me laughing until tears rolled out.

Ooh, an honorable mention to Shi Kyung (Jo Jung Suk), the best bodyguard one could ask for. I’m sorry but I shipped him and Lee Jae Shin (Lee Yong Ji) so much more than the main couple. They were so perfect together. He was socially awkward yes but you could see him secretly fall for her and all. I’m going to end it here and go back to sulking/ sobbing at what could’ve been.

Switch Girl!!

“‘Switch Girl!!’ revolves around a high school student named Nika who appears to be a stylish and fashionable girl at school, but that’s really a fake persona that she uses when she’s in public. At home, she “switches off” the facade and her returns to her true slovenly nature.”

It was filled with lighthearted fun and the plot line stuck pretty close to the manga original. If anyone’s looking for a drama to unwind to then this would be a good choice. The whole story was filled with clichés and was entirely unrealistic but that was what made it so entertaining to watch, a good escape from reality although I must warn, not for those who are easily disgusted. It garnered enough demand for a second season so I shall look forward to that.

A Gentleman’s Dignity

A drama about the careers and love lives of urban professionals. It will tell the story of four men in their forties as they go through love, breakup, success and failure.

I initially started watching this for CN Blue’s Lee Jong Hyun, who plays Collin, since this is the first drama he’s appeared in but I slowly fell in love with the drama itself. Well more the four gentlemen than the drama.

Jonghyun looked like a vampire in this- is his skin naturally that pale or..? The first few episodes he appeared in, he went for the I’m too cool for school feel (+look) in the first few episodes he appeared in, complete with a side smirk. Then once his outer layers were peeled off, you got a peek at the insecure boy inside who just wants to find his biological father. Mind you, it was just a quick peek. So his acting may not have been brilliant but I’m sure with time, it will improve (hopefully).

Now, the four, forty year old, best friends was what kept this drama running. There wasn’t much character development but the bromance kept me entertained. I especially liked the different scenarios at the beginning of every episode where you could see the four in action. The drama promised friendship and that it delivered, good, solid friendship, strengthened through the years.

However, I was a bit skeptic about the romance between Kim Do Jin (Jang Dong Gun) and Seo Yi Soo (Kim Ha Neul)- they’re in their late thirties to early forties yet their romance was much too pure and innocent to be considered realistic. They seem like first loves more than anything which is pretty doubtful considering how old they are. Oh and also, no matter how much I tried, I couldn’t get into Im Meahri (Yoon Jin Yi) and Choi Yoon (Kim Min Jong).  Maybe it’s because he’s basically watched her grow, from a baby to the young girl she is today. How do you get romantic feelings from that I don’t know but okay. Also, he doesn’t seem like he’s romantically interested in her. If he really seemed so, maybe I would’ve supported them just a little but their love was so flat and one sided (Meahri).

Rooftop Prince

When Crown Prince Lee Gak is transported 300 years into the future to present day Seoul along with his three retainers, they believe that it is their duty to solve the murder case of the Crown Princess in order to return to Joseon.

Another time travelling drama. This one was more funny than anything- the time travel made no sense but I’m willing to overlook it for the comedy and loyalty this quirky little drama contained. I didn’t really get the corporation takeover parts either but this drama was so delightfully charming that I’ll overlook that bit too. Actually I’ll overlook everything so give me more rooftop prince (+ his awesome minions) please.

Queen Inhyun’s Man

Kim Boong Do is a scholar who had supported the reinstatement of Queen In Hyun when Jang heebin’s schemes resulted in her being deposed and replaced as King Sukjong’s queen consort.With the help of a spell when he is in going to be killed in a fight he travels 300 years into the future of modern Seoul and meets Choi Hee Jin, a no-name actress who is expecting a career renaissance through her role as Queen In Hyun in a TV drama.She helps him to know about the history of his time and change some events.After that they start to develop feelings for each other,but is it possible for them to have a successful relationship?

This was probably the most thought out time travelling drama as the time travel in it actually made sense.

There wasn’t any random ‘bam I’m in the future! Bam, I’m back again!’ scenarios as you could actually understand why it was happening. And in case you didn’t, the characters explained it quite a few times.

Even though it was good, the drama aired and finished much too quietly for me. I had no idea it existed until I stumbled on it some time ago.  It was good solid drama and I enjoyed it thoroughly until it got to the ending.

The ending seemed weird and rather rushed to be honest. I dislike rushed endings because it just ruins the whole run up to it. In this case, I think the ending was spent on tying up loose ends which I can understand except as much as I like the main couple, they didn’t have to make it a happy ending.

I was shocked and saddened with the original ending but in my opinion, it was perfect. I think I would’ve enjoyed it so much more if that had been the ending (I’m trying hard not to spoil anything so this might not be making much sense).

All that aside though, the story was blazing hot with romance. I approve of how they don’t want be dictated by fate and go about making their own fates rather than wait around to see what life has in offer for them.

The leads, Kim Boong Do (Ji Hyun Woo) and Choi Hee Jin (Yoo In Na) had such good chemistry together that I was delighted when I found out that they were actually a couple in real life.

That being said, I love how Yoo In Na’s onscreen best friend/ manager Jo Soo Kyung (Ga Deuk Hi) tries hard to be understanding even if she did want to quit being the manager so many times (but she still stayed on- it’s the action that counts!). If it were up to me, I would’ve  quit being her manager long ago to  get a relaxing, much needed massage.

This is, in my opinion, the best executed time travelling drama of the year. Yay for Queen Inhyun’s Man!

Hungry!

Hungry_drama

Eisuke <is> a former bassist of a rock band who gave up his music dreams to carry on the tradition of his family’s French restaurant. The show will involve a love triangle as Kuninaka and Takimoto play rivals for Eisuke’s heart.

This was a nice Jdrama. Although I wanted to root for the good and hate on the bad, I realized in the end that there were no good or bad in this drama, only people who are passionate about French cuisine, or food in general.

.Being a smart businessman who loves French food doesn’t necessarily make him a ‘bad guy’ even if he does do some not very nice things (from our perspective). But the things he did had reasons behind them, he didn’t do things for the sake of making the protagonist’s life hard, no he did them because from his view, they were advantageous for him and that’s what makes a good businessman I guess.

This was a pleasant story about how when life throws you lemons, you make delicious, mouth-watering French food with them.

The disappointments

Big

18-year-old Kang Gyung-Joon’s  spirit suddenly finds itself in the body of 30-year-old Seo Yoon Jae. Seo-Yon-Jae is a successful doctor and engaged to high school teacher Gil Da-Ran. Gil Da-Ran just so happens to be the teacher of 18-year old Kang Gyung-Joon. More problems ensue when 30-year-old Seo Yoon Jae falls in love with another woman .

I don’t know. I was anticipating a great Hong Sisters drama, not this mess. After twelve or so episodes I realised that there wasn’t going to be any amazing revelations or explanations to pull the drama back on the path so I just  jumped straight to the ending in which I must admit, made no sense whatsoever (and I have a feeling it wasn’t because I skipped parts). I am left even more confused now. I..don’t know?

Skip Beat!

Gong Xi sacrificed her life to support her boyfriend, Bu Puo Shang, so he could become a successful singer. One day, Shang suddenly breaks up with Gong Xi, leaving her with nothing, and Gong Xi vows revenge. She decides to delve into the entertainment world and become even more successful than Shang to get back at him. Gong Xi therein meets Dun He Lian, another actor in her agency, who helps motivate her to become a top entertainer.”

Skip Beat is another manga turned drama adaption. I loved the manga version and this drama version wasn’t bad but for me, it was on the same level as Switch Girl. Both were hilariously fun they were pretty shallow. At least Switch Girl had romance.

I don’t exactly dislike it but my expectations may have been a bit too high for this one (is it so wrong to expect more than a kiss) so I don’t like it as much as I would’ve wanted to.

Skip Beat left me frustrated at the lack of romance between anyone and everyone in it. 16 episodes and the two leads (Siwon and Ivy Chen) only managed ONE KISS? And I’m not even sure if they are dating or not.

It was nice to watch but nice was all it was I guess. It is an idol drama but they could have covered the lack of depth with romance and fizzing chemistry. But they didn’t so I am left slightly disappointed.

This doesn’t mean it was bad though because it wasn’t but they could have done so much more with what may have been a great drama adaption.

The Marriage Plot

This drama sounded interesting- it sounded so interesting yet it was such a flop (in my opinion). What went wrong you ask? I’m not sure, I just couldn’t get invested in it, or rather, there wasn’t much to invest in. I am madly disappointed at what could have been a charmingly sweet and comedic story.

I Love You So Much

I’m sorry drama but I don’t love you so much.

Firstly, was so confusing- the main male lead Chang Yu Jie (Lan Cheng Long) can’t get over his supposedly dead girlfriend but when the main female lead- Xia Le Di (Li Jia Ying) comes along, he starts falling for her instead (or does he?) but then he sees his supposedly dead girlfriend one day and he realizes that he still has feelings for her but on the other hand, he’s falling deeper and deeper for Xia Le Di to the extent that you know that they’ll definitely end up together but nope, his supposedly dead girlfriend regains all her memories and comes back and suddenly bam he loves her instead.

The only good thing that came out of this was that Xia Le Di ended up with the second lead which is good because I shipped them since they were the only ones who actually had a spark (plus the second lead looked so goooood). At least Xia Le Di was able to get over her past love *stares at Yu Jie*.

I’m especially disappointed at Blue Lan (/ Lan Cheng Dong) whose acting was like that of a wet fish. It was so flat that I was like what? Who died?

Fondant Garden

Uh..I gave up on this drama after the first few episodes because…cuteness overload? I don’t know, the smiles were so bright that I’ve been blinded by it all.

Sprout

I see these great ratings for this jdrama so I assume that it must be good. However, after just one episode, I was so done with this one.

I’m not sure if I should be judging this since I’ve only watched one episode but the main girl is so infuriating that I want to chuck a glass of ice cold water at her and tell her to grow up.She is selfish and immature, not the silly sort of immature but the type that thinks everything should go along how she wishes it to and that the world revolves around her. Well guess what girl, it doesn’t and nobody cares what you think. Actually, the last part isn’t true because so many people care about her and try to please her. But nope, she can’t seem to see it since she walks around like a spoiled brat. And her family isn’t even rich.

Usually it’s the rich families that have super spoiled brats right, well nope, this family isn’t doing so well financially so they rent out a few rooms in order to support themselves, in order to support HER (since she’s part of the family) but she doesn’t care. She’s all how “could you rent out our house to these strangers without my permission!?” when they have dinner with the polite tenants.

Poor tenants, they must’ve felt so uncomfortable. Okay I know how angry she must’ve felt to suddenly have to rent out some rooms but hey, they gave you former warning and why couldn’t you have waited until they were out of earshot to speak your mind? Argh.

She might start to change her personality and all as the drama moves along and have a life bonding friendship with the tenants or whatever but I ain’t waiting around for that to happen, I’ve already jumped off this ship long ago.

I’m sorry if you really liked this drama or if you were really looking forward to watching this but hey, it’s just my opinion. Don’t let it cloud over what you may think of it.

Still watching

Inborn Pair

Two strangers, who never had much luck in the love arena, found themselves betrothed by their families. Figuring they will never find true love, they agreed to the arranged marriage. They bickered throughout their marriage. But bickering slowly gave way to genuine fondness for one another. In the end, the couple discovered that true love is not to be found but has to be cultivated.

This is probably the longest Taiwanese drama that I’ve watched (/ am watching) with 84 episodes. I started this at the beginning of the year but somehow, I’ve only managed to watch 20 something episodes.

My feelings on this drama are currently neutral since there hasn’t been too much development in the story line yet. However, there are 84 episodes after all and the drama has planted the seedlings for future problems to arise.

I like the characters and I can’t wait to fall in love with them all. I am seriously going to find the time to watch (or marathon) it properly one day (soon).

The History of the Salaryman.

One night Yoo Bang  enters a dark, mysterious villa with nothing but a flashlight, only to find an executive of the Chunha Medical Group, Ho Hae slouched in a chair, dead and Jin Ho Hae’s niece, Yeo Chi  hiding behind a curtain. At Ho Hae’s funeral, Yoo Bang and Yeo Chi are suddenly taken into custody for his murder. We’re taken three months into the past to reveal what led to this murder and exactly who was responsible. During this flashback we meet Choi Hang Woo , a director from Ho Hae’s rival pharmaceutical company, who is undercover to steal the formula for their new drug and the Chief Researcher from Chunha Group, Cha Woo-Hee . The lives of these individuals will all be intertwined within these three months to reveal exactly just who murdered Ho Hae, and why.”

I am only 2 episodes in but I can feel myself falling in love with it already. This drama cracks me up majorly. I started it on a restless night when I couldn’t fall asleep and laughing like crazy at 3am in the morning isn’t very fun to be honest. I watched the super random yet awesome trailer a few months back and this drama did not disappoint because it is random. But I like how it manages to switch from randomness to seriousness smoothly and make the serious parts fun and entertaining to watch as well.

Miss Rose

When a fortune teller predicted that Luo Si Yi was doomed to be a spinster, Luo wagered that she can get herself married within the year or she will pay the fortune teller a million dollars. As she dressed up for her dates, she also found herself armored up to help her new boss. Her boss, Gao Cheng Kuan, is known to treat his employees like screws that should be tighten or thrown away if rusted. She must snare a man while keeping up with her ever demanding boss, unless she wants to end up a debt-ridden spinster.

I’ve only watched one episode so far and I don’t know what to think of it yet. One thing for sure though, this drama is super similar to Office Girls. Like seriously, I found myself thinking,’ hey this reminds me of Office Girls!’ at least five or more times during the episode. Hopefully the similarities (which include the manager, awesome best friend and office settings) end there because as much as I like Office Girls, I don’t think I want to watch another version of it (I’ll admit though that I started watching this to see more of Roy Qiu, hehe). Random comment but the main female lead (Megan Lai) is pretty!

Dramas I still need to watch

Queen SOP

Love Forward

Ti Amo Chocolate

In Between

Half a Fairytale

Endless Love

When Love walked in

Summer

Runaway Sweetheart

I refuse to believe that there are so few super good Taiwanese dramas this year and since these are the ones I still haven’t got around to watching, it doesn’t hurt to try right? Dramas, I will come with low expectations if you want but just leave me satisfied if nothing more, please?

My Splendid Life

Since Jerry Yan takes on so few dramas, I have great expectations for this one! However, there’s been so little news about it that I’ve completely forgotten about it. No fear though, because I remember it again!

 

Love, Now

Hurry up and finish drama so I can watch you in all your splendid glory! I’m super excited to watch this since it looks and sounds super awesome but I’m going to resist the temptation and wait for it to end first.

 

Drama Go Go Go

It’s a good Chinese drama apparently. And I’m always wanting a good c-drama to watch so I’ll definitely get round to watching this one.

 

Missing You

I’ve decided that melodramas are bad for my health (*thinks back to Nice Guy*) but at least this time round I know it’s a melodrama so I can uh, prepare myself mentally before I jump in? But for Yoon Eun Hye and Yoo Seung Ho I will watch it no matter what! So throw whatever you want at me drama because there’s no way I’m backing away from you.

 

Can We Get Married?

Cheongdamdong Alice

I live in Cheongdamdong

Someone, please sub this? PRETTY PLEASE!?

 

I love Lee Tae Ri

School 2013

 

King of Dramas

 

May Queen

You Who Rolled In Unexpectedly

 

And that concludes another year of dramas for me (and it actually does since I’m posting this on the 31st). This year, I’ve found some dazzling diamonds in among the coal, and some in-betweeners that with more work, could have turned into diamonds themselves. There weren’t many good Taiwanese dramas this year and that has left me slightly disappointed since I do love watching a good tdrama The same goes for Chinese dramas but that may be because I haven’t watched much Chinese drama (or any at all) this year. To be honest, it’s because none of them have really caught my eye so hopefully next year there will be more interesting and entertaining t and c dramas to look forward to. I have watched a great deal of Korean dramas though and none of them were super bad, or maybe it’s just because I skipped past dramas such as To the Beautiful You, Love Rain, Faith, etc. I’ve found some of the low key dramas to be really good, if not better than some of the over hyped/ over promoted ones. The small cable channels also proved that they too were able to produce dramas that are just as good as the larger channels. 2012 has been a good year but I’m sure 2013 will be even better!

**The plots for the dramas are from DramaWiki

Leave a Reply

