Next translation project: Hello, Old Times

 

Can’t believe time flies by so fast! I want to start this translation project because I’ve been translating A Book Dedicated To Our Youth for quite a long time now so I really want to take a break from it (even though I’ve been MIA for so long :P). Don’t worry though, I’ll be taking this as an opportunity to catch up on translating A Book Dedicated To Our Youth so hopefully I can amass a pile of translated posts for it and continue with posting regular weekly translations.

I actually dug this post out from 2014 haha, at the time I had wanted to translate this but I went for Full Of My Love To You instead 🙂

I20120730182849432

 

I have heard so many positive reviews on this book, apparently this is a MUST read. Like with my other translations, I haven’t read this book prior so I’m pumped up to start this journey with you guys. [*Edit: I’ve read a few chapters as I’ve been translating and I love the story so far so I hope you guys will to!]

I bought the collectors edition which has the original two books with a few minor tweaks but also consists of a third book contains an extra 10 chapters (I’m guessing it’s on stuff that happens after the original novel ends.) making it a total of 115 chapters! I’m not going to let the length ruin my enthusiasm though because it is supposedly a super great book *[Edit: It really is 🙂 ]

Plot summary:

‘Mary Sue’ is a an illness of ‘thinking oneself is the main lead’, we all suffer from it. Don’t be alarmed about it being infectious, it is only declaring the start of growing up. This is a story of the growth of a little girl, perhaps this is also your story. She is Xia Nu, Athena, Tsukino Usagi, Flower Angel*, Siri Tachi, Madame White Snake….. 
She thinks that everyone loves her, the world is waiting for her to come to the rescue. Yet she never expected that this world couldn’t be saved by anyone, the only thing she could do, was to grow up. Peter Pan has finally walked to the end of childhood, the time of youth is standing at the end of growing up and looking back, the rough and bumpy road has finally turned into flowers in full bloom.
*[Xia Nu (it can also mean a female fighter/warrior) – A Touch of Zen, Tsukino Usagi is from Sailor Moon, Flower Angel is from Hana no Ko Lunlun, Siri Tachi is from Star Wars, Madame White Snake is from New Legend of Madame White Snake.]

 

 

5 thoughts on “Next translation project: Hello, Old Times

  1. Kate - skimmedmilkdrama

    Hehe, hi tofubyu, glad to see you back again! I chanced upon A Book Dedicated To Our Youth on your blog and absolutely loved it. In fact, I finished reading it in Chinese because it was so good, I couldn’t wait. If you need any help in translating or would like to split up the work, I would be glad to help. Readers deserve exposure to great novels like this 😛 I might not be able to do much, but I hope every bit helps. If you are keen, you can reply me here, find me on my site or drop an email to skimmedmilkdrama@gmail.com 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

